The virtual conference took place April 28, 2010 and featured two one-hour interactive interviews with the award winners. Recordings of both conference sessions are available below, along with resources related to each Trophy Award recipient.

Education Overview:
Problem Solving: The Importance of Preparation and Teamwork

Gen. John R. "Jack" Dailey
Listen to a special welcome message from National Air and Space Museum Director Gen. John R. “Jack” Dailey:

Dr. Chris KraftCHRIS KRAFT
Lifetime Achievement Trophy

April 28, 2010

Enter RecordingThis online session will feature a live, interactive conversation with 2010 Lifetime Achievement Trophy recipient Chris Kraft, NASA’s first flight director for human spaceflight. His long and distinguished career of technical and managerial achievements began in 1944 when he joined the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics at Langley Field, Va., until it was absorbed into NASA in 1958. That year he joined the NASA Space Task Group, charged with sending American astronauts into space. Appointed as flight director, Kraft shaped the character of Mission Control. He was on duty in Houston during the dramatic Gemini and Apollo flights of the 1960s and early 1970s. In 1972 he became director of the Manned Spacecraft Center (Johnson Space Center), a post he held during the formative years of the Space Shuttle until his retirement in 1982 to become an aerospace consultant. [See resources and images related to Dr. Chris Kraft's career.]

Current Achievement Trophy

April 28, 2010

Access Recording

US Airways Flight 1549, an Airbus A320 jetliner, became disabled over New York City and “landed” in the Hudson River after flying through a flock of Canada geese. The successful end to US Airways Flight 1549 without fatalities lasted only a few minutes, but this heroic achievement exemplified the value of training, teamwork, and professionalism in commercial aviation.

This on-line education session will feature a live, interactive conversation with members of the US Airways Flight 1549 crew. The teamwork needed for a successful outcome extended beyond those aboard the aircraft; the program will also include a call-in from Patrick Harten, one of the key air traffic controllers involved in the water landing. [See resources and links related to US Airways Flight 1549.]

The National Air and Space Museum Trophy 2010 Current Achievement awardees (from top to bottom): Captain Chesley B. Sullenberger III, First Office Jeffrey B. Skiles, Flight Attendant Sheila Dail, Flight Attendant Donna Dent, and Flight Attendant Doreen Welsh. Source: US Airways